Sew Excited!

hurrah hooray! FROCK NITTY GRITTY! my #dottieangel frock pattern will be published with Simplicity, Pattern Number 1080 next month! It will ship to stores nationwide on June 12th and also be available via their website from that date I am guessing. www.simplicity.com. they do ship overseas I am told. Patten includes 2 frock styles & 1 smock. Note I use soft quality quilting yardage or vintage cotton/barkcloth when I make my frocks, washing and drying several times with no ironing, to get a lived in vintage vibe. Please do share your frock makes with the hashtag #dottieangelfrock and please do feel free to spread the word of my pattern release. also perhaps ask your nearby LFS if they would like to carry it so you can support them 🙂 I think that is it. Tis a proud moment, for my grandmother was a most brilliant seamstress and used Simplicity patterns all the time, I like to think she is smiling down right now upon me 💛… Edited: I am hopeful it was worth you all waiting patiently, thank you so kindly my dearies for being so peachy to me and my crafty soul all these years x

A post shared by Tif (@dottieangel) on

I have a huge style crush on Tif Fusel, AKA Dottie Angel, and I have been all giddy that she has created an official Simplicity Pattern. The pattern will be #1080 and it will be available for sale sometime in June 2015. The pattern includes her signature cotton frock in two versions plus a shorter smock style top.

I’ve been thinking about trying to sew a garment and I think this fun little frock would be a great, simple, first project. I can’t wait until the pattern is released so I can choose some fabrics! Dottie recommends soft, pre-washed quilt fabrics, vintage cottons, or barkcloth which I might already have some stashed away. While I haven’t really taken up sewing, that doesn’t mean I have started stashing fabrics!

One thought on “Sew Excited!

  1. Cecelia says:

    That’s an adorable frock. If you haven’t sewn in a while, I suggest starting with Colette’s free Sorbetto tank top pattern. It’s a terrific basic pattern that would be lovely in a retro fabric.

    Like

Leave a Reply

